Visions…. real or imaginary?

I have recently become aware of the fact that I have “visions.” These visions typically occur after I clear my mind for meditation and/or sleep. I know it sounds like a strange thing to suddenly become aware of- but there are two reasons why until now I have not recognized them.

The first reason is because more times than not they do not involve anyone or anything I know, so I have no personal stake in remembering them. Many times I have thought “oh, what an odd dream…” Often times they shock me to some extent and I jolt out of my relaxed state and forget them all together.

I have recently been trying harder and harder to remember snippets of these so that I can investigate them afterwards. I have failed the last several times until yesterday. I was going into meditation- which was difficult because my son was interrupting me every. other. minute., but I finally managed to snatch a few minutes away and quickly went into my mediative state.

The first scene that I see is that of a bride. She is in a very old fashioned wedding dress. Very similar to the one shown here, although it was all white and it was not at all shiny. It seemed crisply starched. The woman wearing the dress had her dark hair piled up high sort-of Elizabethan-style as did her two attendants which I took to be her sisters, for some reason.

Behind the periphery of my vision there was someone speaking about the situation at hand and he said something about how “Dorothy Poden always does it that way….” or something to that extent. My son then came and interrupted me and I jolted back to reality- but I remembered the name.

I did a quick Google search of the name “Dorothy Poden” and only ONE result came up. It is the record of the marriage of one Dorothy Poden to a William Walton on September 16, 1625 at the Parish of Northenden, Chesh.

Am I on to something here? Or is it just a coincidence? Why would the name Dorothy Poden be inside my head? I have never heard of anyone with that name or last name in my life! I think it is quite funny that I saw her in wedding dress and the one record of her on the entirety of the internet is the record of her marriage.

Could be an interesting research project, perhaps.
This entry was posted in Visions. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Visions…. real or imaginary?

  1. Debra says:

    Jen,
    This is very fascinating!
    I’ve had visions like that as well, throughout life. They were like little snippets of video, or photographs. Sometimes there would be dialogue.
    We didn’t have computers to verify anything with in the early days. Occasionally they would turn out to be something in the future news. Other times they were definitely related to dead people. A few times there would be flashes of people I knew. I once found an old friend that I hadn’t seen in many years: I saw her at a particular place in my town, so went over there immediately, and there she was! She had been trying to find me, too.
    Never figured out why they happen.

    • jenastyle says:

      Debra, that is a great story about finding your friend through your visions!

      I find it so funny that I have always had these visions but just NOW started paying attention to them. These are different from my precog dreams because I am still on the edge of consciousness- and it is actually HARDER to retain the information in these visions that it is in my dream states. All of a sudden I realized what was happening and I thought “Who are these people? What is going on here!?” I am very interested to continue to investigate it!

  2. Nancy Atkinson says:

    Maybe it was you in another life.

  3. There are no coincidences!

  4. Pingback: Hypnagogia | Fractal Times

Leave a Reply

